On Finding the Spark


I was just reading this article by Leo Babauta on Passionate people: http://zenhabits.net/surround/. The article got me so excited about life and adding that spark to life itself. I started visualizing a dream lifestyle and could picture most of it. I imagined waking up in the morning with that excitement that I normally only feel on weekends. I would love to wake up to a simple empty room with loads of greenery and sunshine pouring in instead of all the furniture. Morning would then become a treat everyday. I would love to open my tiny wardrobe with very few clothes but each piece my favourite so that dressing up will be exciting. I picture my bathroom having just 5-7 items of essential use.

I picture having an extremely exciting routine where there is room for passion, room for development, room to come up with great ideas. A place where i go and teach a bit, learn a bit, are in the company of great working minds, where time flows so quickly that i would need to remind myself to stop work and go back home. I visualize ample time for indulging in sports or activities so that I feel great on the inside and outside of my body. I would love to achieve the highest level of physical fitness, go beyond the limitations of my own body. Most importantly I visualize most evenings spent outdoor in the midst of nature.

Right now a lot of material clutter needs to leave my hands. I want to free myself of this responsibility of taking care of stuff. Next would be mental clutter, for which a lot of introspection will be required. I am finding my purpose in life. I am looking for a greater level of satisfaction from life and that will happen once I can feel the spark on a daily basis.

Time is running out and I do not want to look back at life and feel I wasted my energy in a corporate world, in a cluttered home, in not indulging into my passion, in letting my youth become stale or in simply living just for the weekends. I want to instead use this limited time to learn skills, sharpen my own brain and serve community. I want to feel proud of my contribution to a person, community or the world.

About getclutterfree

my blog is about how physical and mental clutter is blocking our lives and getting rid of both can be the best thing you can do for yourself
This entry was posted in Declutter. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Finding the Spark

  1. Ninad says:

    You post couldn’t have come at a better time. I am going through the same sentiments.

  2. So glad you read it. And the worst part is that right now i dont have a solution to live my dream life.

  3. Dmarie says:

    I feel like I’m often wasting my time…just don’t know how to get out of that rut!

  4. tammy says:

    the excitement and passion you are talking about comes from letting go of all the stuff! it’s truly amazing. you breathe. you feel fresh, like you do after a shower, before putting on clothes. like you’re a brand new clean person ready for life!! i’m a 65 yr old woman who’s been a minimalist (only we never called it that) all my life. even as a teenager i needed space and air and light more than things. that made me wierd of course, because most young people have rooms they can actually get buried in under all the stuff! i like your site and even at my age, i enjoy reading about other people living the life of freedom from the weight of consumerism. good luck!

    • i like the way you describe the feeling after a shower…very fresh. and i can so relate to people finding our need for space, light and air wierd as compared to things. i am so happy that you like my site. thank you.

Leave a Reply

