The end of television


Definition of the black box:

“An addictive device which keeps the

lower classes subdued; a perpetuator

of violence and materialism; and a

silent destroyer of intellectualism.”

 

I read this definition of the television on a blog I was reading recently. I found it to be quite a strong statement but found myself agreeing to the above. TV can be very addictive. Action packed movies can spread the message that violence is a trendy trait to have. Advertising, which these days are shown much more than the actual content, does make you want to run after material things. The television also kills conversation time among family members, reading time, and time to pursue hobbies or sports.

How does the TV help us? There are a few who watch channels like discovery, national geographic etc. I also enjoy watching movies of interest but what about the masses?

We all tune into soap operas, family dramas, song and dance competitive shows, live shows. There are shows like “Big Boss” and “Maa Exchange” which could even have a negative influence.

 I am not saying TV is a complete no-no. I myself do watch a family drama show, but I know I cannot watch it for hours. It’s a slot of 30 minutes where I let my creativity go for a toss and enjoy with everyone.

On the other hand, when I am not watching TV, I find that time very relaxing, without the noise and the flickering screen. I prefer to put on some of my favorite music while de-cluttering in my room, or just dancing to the tunes or reading a book, or thinking and enjoying the calmness in the space, the stillness.

TV would destroy the beauty in that moment.  TV would also destroy the minimalistic look and feel to my space.

I am happy to announce that I am not addicted to the TV and could stay without one.

About getclutterfree

my blog is about how physical and mental clutter is blocking our lives and getting rid of both can be the best thing you can do for yourself
This entry was posted in Simplfying and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

