Collecting Knick Knacks


I was never a big shopper or fond of collecting stuff. I always bought in moderation and decluttered seasonly. But after reading blogs on minimalism and sinking deeper into the concept i realized that i wasn’t a minimalist afterall. I loved buying knick knacks on any trip of mine. I felt that whatever was the speciality of that region must be bought in forms on knicks knacks to bring back home. I would buy shot glasses, decorative things, paper holder, match boxes, magnets etc. This would be a way to tell people where all we visited with stories around it.

But now its a completely different me. I still buy the special things but things that i can use and enjoy. For instance we went to Sri lanka and i decided to buy lots of Dilmah Tea. Whenever my husband and I have time to drink tea together at home we always have the Dilmah tea as it feels very special to do so. It feels so much better that buying a shot glass which i will never use and can barely see and hardly enjoy.

Recently we went for a wedding function and the family had organized for a “personalized” giveaway which included a wall hanging which included your photograph , a small clock & the meaning of your name. It was all assembled on the spot. I opted out of taking that give-away back home. The earlier me would have happily taken that home.

I feel so free from the silly knick knacks that can take more breathing space away than clothes. Although thats another area which needs regular de-cluttering. The best part is that i can never imagine going back to be that person who used to collect knick knacks.

About getclutterfree

my blog is about how physical and mental clutter is blocking our lives and getting rid of both can be the best thing you can do for yourself
This entry was posted in Declutter. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Collecting Knick Knacks

  1. Aman Gupta says:

    I do the same thing. I think I will take your advice and buy things I will use. Makes more sense 🙂 btw merry Xmas and a very happy new year!

  2. Pooja says:

    oh we love dilma too…

  3. Pooja says:

    Dilmah! i meant

  4. nabha says:

    Hey,
    Thats a good idea. My reason for not buying that shot glass has always been the fact that i ll have to make sure it is dust free in whichever part of the house it will get stuck in.

    Allergies can make you clutter free too 🙂

  5. Shop Detective says:

    Buy all the shot glasses and give them to me next time you meet me.

Leave a Reply

