And we’re dancin’, And it feels alright, I can’t control my desire…….


There’s a passion inside, An inner strength that drives
Can’t nobody take that away from you
It’s the greatest high, You set the floor on fire when you come alive

 

Dancing can make everything alright! I swear by sweating.

Dancing lets you move your body freely along with the rhythm of the sound. To truly enjoy the movement, you have to soak yourself in the music.  I have been dancing for more than 2 years now. While I am taking my time to learn the skill along this time I have learned a lot from dancing.

It is a surrogate for performing.  If you have always wanted to express, dancing is a great medium. You have to make a connection with the audience and you have to throw yourself at them. I learnt that people do not watch your steps, they watch you. So it comes down to projecting yourself. The steps are an aid to make you move and make that connection.

Dancing helped me understand music better. A lot of us listen to music and enjoy it. But few of us actually hear the music. It takes great levels of focus to follow the beats and match your movement with the beats. Once you have the skill of reading music, dancing faster or slower becomes simple.

Dancing helped me look in the eye. I could not make an eye to eye connection while making a conversation. Over the years I realized that to scale up my dancing I had to look in the eye of that one person to make myself noticed. I started connecting while dancing, making this a habit even while taking a shower. Lol

 The biggest benefit of dancing is the sense of satisfaction which goes down deep to the soul. It is like food for the soul, for the real me. I have got a great job. I have a great family to look forward to at the end of the day. But I wouldn’t have been as bright, chirpy, fun-loving, spontaneous, lively had I not taken onto dancing. It brings back life into me. And trust me, I can go shopping and fill up my closet with pretty things to keep my spirits high. But the spirit won’t stay at a constant high. 

Feeding the internal body or soul is much more important than feeding the external body. I’d rather not buy a thing for the next one year if I could dance daily.

About getclutterfree

my blog is about how physical and mental clutter is blocking our lives and getting rid of both can be the best thing you can do for yourself
This entry was posted in Dance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And we’re dancin’, And it feels alright, I can’t control my desire…….

  1. Pooja says:

    Inspired to join something sooner then I can. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

