Interior Decorating, with a budget to buy flowers only


One day I was talking with my neighbor about the amount of clutter which fills our houses, and you don’t know where to actually dispose of the stuff you don’t need any more.

She suggested an organization to me which actually takes everything coming out of the household. I was thrilled and 2 months before my wedding, I decided to go thru the entire house.

My mom, sister & I started off in the morning, taking lunch & tea breaks and went thru the ‘entire’ house. So much stuff was coming out that we had never used and didn’t intent to use.

We started collecting all the stuff we wanted to give away in the entrance area of the house. I have to admit that once the stuff is out of the house it obviously feels great but while you are going thru corners, cupboards and cutlery, and the moment when you pick the item and toss it away is the greatest moment.

By late afternoon, we had collected so much stuff that when we loaded it into the car, only the driver could fit in.

We sent the stuff off and came back to such a happy smile on our faces.

 

 

That’s when I realized that you can do-up the house and make it look prettier by spending nothing.

Maybe just the fuel to drop the clutter for donation and a nice bunch of flowers to celebrate the space who have just acquired.

When the driver came back, he was carrying a catalogue and a note in his hand. The owner of the organization was over-whelmed by the amount of stuff we sent and so she wrote a thank you note. This was the icing on the cake, or the motivation needed to carry on efforts in making others lives better and our own homes more beautiful.

About getclutterfree

my blog is about how physical and mental clutter is blocking our lives and getting rid of both can be the best thing you can do for yourself
This entry was posted in Declutter and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Interior Decorating, with a budget to buy flowers only

  1. Amit Jain says:

    I tried this method last weekend and managed to let go of 34 objects! I am liking my room without all the mess. I guess a few flowers will add to this.

  2. Deepti says:

    Hi… the idea sounds wonderful given the amount of clutter that we keep collecting and then we dont have place for the new stuff 🙂 Anyways, how about sharing that organisation details with everyone so that we can make our room clutter free too 🙂

  3. Kadambari says:

    Great idea and well written! I am hoping it inspires me enough to finally do something with all the clutter we have collected at home!!

  4. Dena says:

    That sounds wonderful! And you’re so lucky to have the support of your family in your decluttering adventure!

    I think that so often we learn our clutter-creating habits from our own families, so they sometimes interpret our desire to declutter as insulting, threatening, or at least very odd. I’m pleased you had a wonderful experience!

  5. Yuette Sirls says:

    Appreciate it for helping out, good info .

  6. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting similar rss problem? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    • hi, thanks for your comments. there is no problem with the subscription. just enter your email id again. and then you need to click on a confirmation link which comes into your inbox. once you have done that you will start recieving the posts immediately.

  7. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck. I’ll surely come back and look for new input! Ciou

  8. very nice post!!!. it sounds very informative. I would share this with my classroom

  9. compro oro says:

    Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a wonderful job!

Leave a Reply

